Weekly Reviews

September 15, 2009

This is something I thought I’d try out. I’m going to just do a weekly post (along with other blogs whenever those get made) basically talking about music/movies/whatever I’ve experienced that week, along with my thoughts. I can’t promise they’ll all be brand new things, but I’ll try to keep up on the times…

Megadeth – Endgame

I checked out the new Megadeth album and I have to say it definitely¬† does not disappoint if you are looking for some excellent thrash Mustaine style. New addition Chris Broderick fits very well into the band, and really holds his own. Some of the lyrics are a little goofy, but hey, it’s Megadeth not Shakespeare. I usually don’t fret too much about thrash lyrics unless they’re abysmally awful, as long as the music is great then I’m set. I’m particularily fond of the instrumental opener, the title track, and the song “Head Crusher”.

3 Inches of Blood – Here Lies Thy Doom

After screamer Jamie Hooper was forced to leave the band due to voice problems, vocalist Cam Pipes was forced to take sole vocal duties for the band, and I can’t be more pleased. This album presents another gradual evolution in the band’s sound, further cementing it as a somewhat convincing tribute of heavy metal days gone by. It’s all a little bit goofy, with song names like “Rock in Hell” and “Snake Fighter” but that’s what I’ve come to expect from these guys. Pretty decent effort better than Fire Up the Blades, but not on par with Advance and Vanquish.

Muse – The Resistance

This one hurt. I was really looking forward to this album, and I was pretty let down. A lot of the songs here don’t really tread much new territory, and feel kind of repetitive and dull. Speaking of dull, the promised “symphony” suite that ends the album is more yawn inducing than awe inspiring. I will stick with the other material, as nothing here really jumped out and got me as excited as previous albums.

Devin Townsend Project – Ki

This has been out awhile now, but I still wanted to mention it, since I listened to it again yesterday. Many people know Dev from his awesome band Strapping Young Lad, but after he disbanded that group, he decided to focus on a new musical direction with his solo work. The first in a string of four albums is Ki, which has elements you’ve come to expect, along with a whole new side of Hevy Devy that is actually quite beautiful. Some of the tracks are incredibly mellow and soothing, and even his interpretation of “Cum on Feel the Noize” actually takes what usually comes off as a cheesy song and makes it sound almost inspiring. It’s truly a great variety of songs and produced extremely well, as Devin often does with his music. Highly recommended, and I look forward to the upcoming albums.

Well, that’s it for now, check in next week to find out what the hell I consumed. I’ll probably listen to the new Brand New album, and hopefully some other newer albums.

Leave a Reply

