Weekly Reviews #2: 1 Out 3 Ain’t Bad….

September 29, 2009

So this week I’m going to give my thoughts on 3 brand new (pun intended) albums that I’ve gotten my hands on. Just a note, these “reviews” are for the tl,dr crowd who just want a quick blurb so they can pretend they’ve heard/seen it and move on with their lives. Enjoy.

Alice In Chains – Black Gives Way to Blue

This is the first AiC album in a long time, and I have to say I was pleasantly surprised. Jerry Cantrell shows that he really is the heart and soul of the band here, and even without singer Layne Staley, they still make some great music with that signature sound we’ve come to expect from the band. ¬†Definitely check this out if you’re a fan of the band. Even the single is good!

Pearl Jam – Backspacer

Backspacer? I barely even know her! Alright, shitty jokes aside…wait, that’s a perfect segue. This album is essentially a shitty joke. Something you want to enjoy, but it’s employed so poorly that all you can manage is to remember better jokes you’ve heard in an attempt to laugh again. I was doing that with this album, thinking back to when Pearl Jam wasn’t the heaping pile of generi-rock this record is. I swear to God I heard some autotune on one of the ballads. T-Pain/Pearl Jam crossover? Only time will tell. I recommend you avoid, and go listen to Ten instead.

Brand New – Daisy

Every Brand New album seems to have its own “sound” so to speak. You can listen to them all, and they sound fairly distinct from each other. They continue this trend with the new album as well. Unfortunately, the distinct sound on this record is crap. When it first started playing, I thought I had gotten some terrible screamo band by mistake. Plus they have a bunch of “ambient” filler bits, which isn’t good when the album itself is fairly short. I think a friend of mine summed it up nicely when he said “It’s kind of like all the bad parts from the other Brand New albums put onto one CD”. It doesn’t get more accurate than that. Extremely disappointed, and if you’re a fan of the band (and not one of the crazy they-can-do-no-wrong fans) chances are you won’t be too impressed either.

One Response to “Weekly Reviews #2: 1 Out 3 Ain’t Bad….”

  1. Tnelson Says:

    Hey very nice blog!!….I’m an instant fan, I have bookmarked you and I’ll be checking back on a regular….See ya


Leave a Reply

